Yes, we are crazy

Author Mike Dellosso shared a very amusing insight about writers on his blog today. It deals with the mental stability (or lack thereof) among us folks who spend our time imagining things no one else understands. A sample:

We create worlds that don’t really exist. Towns, buildings, and people to inhabit those places. We give those people personalities and lives and histories and then we converse with them in our heads. Sometimes we talk out loud to them. We spend time with people who don’t really exist.”

All very true. I was at a statewide library convention for Wyoming a few years back and Ellen Hopkins was our speaker. When she talked about having conversations with her characters, one of my co-workers looked at me, grinned, and asked if I do the same thing. I said, “No, but I do overhear their conversations and write them down.”

It’s true. When I write dialogue, after starting with one character’s statement, the rest of it flows easily, as if I were sitting in the same room with these people. Never mind that they exist only in my imagination, as pencil and ink scribbles on paper, and as bytes in a Microsoft Word document. 

Mike is right. It takes a special kind of crazy to be a fiction author. I’m thankful I’m in good company.

http://mikedellosso.com/2014/04/09/the-dirty-secret-fiction-writers-dont-want-you-to-know/

Leave a Reply

